The Board of Trustees

The trustees are eminent men and women of stature and integrity in their respective domains – media, law, social sciences, business, finance, etc. They are uncompromising and with a clear understanding of what constitutes impactful and independent journalism; and the entrepreneurial spirit needed to drive a successful media business.

  • Mr. C. B. Bhave, Trustee

    Mr C. B. Bhave is the Chairperson of the Indian Institute for Human Settlements (IIHS) — India’s first prospective National University for Research and Innovation to address the challenges of urbanisation. Mr. Bhave was Chairman of the Securities and Exchange Board of India (SEBI), as well as Chairman and Managing Director of National Securities Depository Limited (NSDL).

  • Mr. Mukund Padmanabhan, Trustee

    Mukund Padmanabhan is a senior journalist. He spent a major part of his career with the Hindu group, where he served as Editor of Hindu BusinessLine and later as Editor of The Hindu, until 2019. As a career journalist, he has written on politics, legal affairs and the arts and reported from a number of countries, including Sri Lanka, Nepal and the UK. Mr. Padmanabhan has an M.Phil degree in Philosophy and is currently Visiting Professor at Krea University, Chennai.

  • Mr. Shyam Divan, Trustee

    Mr. Shyam Divan is a senior advocate at the Supreme Court of India. He regularly appears on behalf of citizens’ groups in environment-related cases. Mr Divan assists the apex court as amicus curiae in the Ballari illegal iron-ore mining case. He is co-author of the widely used textbook Environmental Law and Policy in India and has authored chapters in the Oxford Handbook of the Indian Constitution (2016). Mr. Divan is co-chair of the LAWASIA Human Rights Section; and is a board member of the Consumer Education and Research Centre, Ahmedabad, and CARE.

  • Mr. T.N. Ninan, Chairperson

    Mr. T. N. Ninan is an award-winning journalist and one of India’s most respected editors. He is the Chairman of Business Standard Pvt. Ltd. He has also served as chairman or member, of the governing boards of a number of non-profit bodies and trusts, in the fields of media, environment, education and public affairs.

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.


Subscribe to our newsletter and stay updated.

© 2024 | All Rights Reserved. Maintained By Netiapps